Welcome to Cereal's Blog!

Seriously? A blog? In this economy???


Return Home
Home

Blog Menu
Latest Article

I got a new KEYBOARD!!!!

5/23/2024


It's been a WHILE since a new entry in the blog. I'd like to apologize for the delay. I've been struggling with some kind of RSI or whatever. Basically my hands would really hurt after typing for some time on my keyboard. This website was actually one of the main things that made me realize. It's really rare that I get the chance to buy tech things, let alone a new keyboard. I decided that I would splurge a little. Oh boy did I splurge. At first I was considering something white to replace my current white keyboard and keep up the aesthetic, but nothing really caught my eye feature wise. That is until I saw a keyboard from a brand ive never heard of before, but when I saw it I knew I had to get it. It was a keyboard going for the same look as those old IBM Model M keyboards, but fully mechanical and hot swappable and it has a TON of functionality.

It's made by a company called Vortex Keyboard, and it's delightfully retro while also being very modern. It's got a whole lot of stuff that I really wanted like fully wireless operation. But it's not just bluetooth, it has an alternate mode for 2.4ghz with an additional dongle for low latency input!! Not only that but it takes AA batteries!! It's honestly so rare to find devices that take batteries like this. I have a ton of rechargeable batteries since I use a lot of battery powered devices from the xbox series x controller to the quest controller, even my headphones take AAA batteries... and so does this keyboard. I need to get a new charger that can do single cell charging. My current chargers only do parallel charging which has never really been a problem but now my keyboard leaves me with only a single battery that I cant charge unless my headset dies. But that's besides the point.

It's my first time owning a keyboard with linear switches and I gotta say they're really really nice. I do wish that these had a lighter actuation force requirement or whatever. While it's WAY easier on my hands compared to my old keyboard it's still a bit too hard to press keys on this thing. Maybe adding lube will help? It definitely feels smooth so I think it might just be the spring inside the switch that's very stiff. Other than that, Im completely in love with this thing. It genuinely sounds nice and feels nice and it looks amazing. Since my hands arent dying because of this thing expect much more rapid updates on this site too! I'm feeling MOTIVATED. >:)